Conferences International 2014 - Pernambuco, Brazil

July 28 - August 1, 2014, Pernambuco, Brazil

BrazilThe 2014 International SWAT Conference drew nearly 140 attendees from 23 countries with more than 100 oral and poster presentations on the Soil and Water Assessment Tool (SWAT). Thank you to everyone who participated and we hope you enjoyed the conference and your time in Brazil, and that you continue to view these gatherings as a positive opportunity for our international research community to share the latest innovations developed for SWAT.

About the conference

Conference Topics
  • Large Scale Applications
  • Climate Change Applications
  • Sensitivity Calibration and Uncertainty
  • Biofuel & Plant Growth
  • Environmental Applications
  • BMPs
  • Hydrology
  • Sediment, Nutrients, and Carbon
  • Pesticides, Bacteria, Metals, and Pharmaceuticals
  • Model Development
  • Database and GIS Application and Development
  • Urban Processes and Management
  • Landscape Processes and Landscape / River Continuum
  • InStream Sediment and Pollutant Transport
  • EPIC/APEX Modeling System
Organizing Committee

Conference Organizing Committee

  • Suzana Montenegro, UFPE – Recife, BR
  • Betânia Freire, UFRPE – Recife, BR
  • Josimar G. Fernandes, IPA /UFPE – Recife, BR
  • Danielle de Almeida Bressiani, USP – São Carlos, BR
  • R. Srinivasan, TAMU – College Station, USA
  • Jeff Arnold, USDA-ARS, Temple, USA
  • Josiclêda Galvíncio, UFPE – Recife, BR
  • Allan Jones, TAMU – Temple, USA
  • Nadia B. Bonumá, UFSC – Florianópolis, BR
  • Ênio França, UFRPE – Recife, BR
  • André Julio do Amaral, EMBRAPA Solos - Recife, BR
  • José Guimarães Carvalho Neto, UFPE - Recife, BR
  • José Yure Gomes dos Santos, UFOB - Barreiras, BR
  • Abelardo Montenegro, UFRPE – Recife, BR
  • Jaclyn Tech, TAMU – College Station, USA

Workshop Organizing Committee

  • Ana Monica Correia, ITEP - Recife, BR
  • Ivan Dornelas Falcone Melo, ITEP - Recife, BR
  • Geraldo Eugenio de Franca, ITEP - Recife, BR
  • Weronica Meira de Souza, UFRPE / UAG - Recife, BR
Scientific Committee
Large Scale Applications
Karim Abbaspour EAWAG Switzerland karim.abbaspour@eawag.ch
R. Srinivasan Texas A&M University USA r-srinivasan@tamu.edu
Debjani Deb Texas A&M University USA ddeb@neo.tamu.edu
Maria Lúcia Calijuri UFV Brazil calijuri@ufv.br
Ricardo de O. Figueiredo Embrapa Meio Ambiente Brazil ricardo.figueiredo@embrapa.br
Dirceu Silveira Reis Jr. UnB Brazil dirceu.reis@gmail.com
Daniel Andres Rodriguez INPE Brazil daniel.andres@inpe.br
Celso Bandeira de Melo Ribeiro UFJF Brazil celso.bandeira@ufjf.edu.br
Aristides Ribeiro UFV Brazil ribeiro@ufv.br
Matheus Fonseca Durães UFLA Brazil mattduraes@yahoo.com.br
Javier Tomasella CEMADEN Brazil javier.tomasella@cemaden.gov.br
Otto Correa Rotunno Filho COPPE-UFRJ Brazil ottorotunno@oi.com.br
Carlos Rogério de Mello UFLA Brazil crmello@deg.ufla.br
Gilvan Sampaio INPE Brazil gilvan.sampaio@inpe.br
Climate Change Applications
Valentina Krysanova PIK Germany Valentina.Krysanova@pik-potsdam.de
Xuesong Zhang Pacific Northwest National Laboratory USA xuesongzhang2004@gmail.com
José Marengo INPE Brazil jose.marengo@inpe.br
Tércio Ambrizzi USP-IAG Brazil ambrizzi@model.iag.usp.br
Dirceu Silveira Reis Jr. UnB Brazil dirceu.reis@gmail.com
Daniel Andres Rodriguez INPE Brazil daniel.andres@inpe.br;
Aristides Ribeiro UFV Brazil ribeiro@ufv.br
Javier Tomasella CEMADEN Brazil javier.tomasella@cemaden.gov.br
Otto Correa Rotunno Filho COPPE-UFRJ Brazil ottorotunno@oi.com.br
Carlos Rogério de Mello UFLA Brazil crmello@deg.ufla.br
Marcus Aurelio Soares Cruz EMBRAPA Brazil mascruz@embrapa.br
Lineu Neiva Rodrigues Embrapa Cerrados Brazil lineu.rodrigues@embrapa.br
Francisco de Assis de Souza Filho UFC Brazil assissouzafilho@gmail.com
Jailson Cunha UFV Brazil jailson.c.c@gmail.com
Gilvan Sampaio INPE Brazil gilvan.sampaio@inpe.br
Josiclêda Galvíncio UFPE Brazil josicleda@hotmail.com
Suzana Gico Montenegro UFPE Brazil suzanam.ufpe@gmail.com
Sensitivity Calibration and Uncertainty
Karim Abbaspour EAWAG Switzerland karim.abbaspour@eawag.ch
Ann van Griensven UNESCO-IHE NL a.vangriensven@unesco-ihe.org
Vladimir Caramori UFAL Brazil vcaramori@yahoo.com
Dirceu Silveira Reis Jr. UnB Brazil dirceu.reis@gmail.com
Ligia Maria Nascimento de Araujo ANA Brazil ligia.araujo@ana.gov.br
Eduardo Mario Mendiondo USP-EESC Brazil e.mario.mendiondo@gmail.com
Wilson Fernandes UFMG Brazil wilson@ehr.ufmg.br
Matheus Fonseca Durães UFLA Brazil mattduraes@yahoo.com.br
Javier Tomasella CEMADEN Brazil javier.tomasella@cemaden.gov.br
Otto Correa Rotunno Filho COPPE-UFRJ Brazil ottorotunno@oi.com.br
Carlos Rogério de Mello UFLA Brazil crmello@deg.ufla.br
Luciana Roberta Sarmento Silva ANA Brazil luciana.sarmento@ana.gov.br
Ceres Duarte de Almeida UFRPE Brazil ceres@codai.ufrpe.br
Marcus Aurelio Soares Cruz EMBRAPA Brazil mascruz@embrapa.br
Lineu Neiva Rodrigues Embrapa Cerrados Brazil lineu.rodrigues@embrapa.br
Suzana Gico Montenegro UFPE Brazil suzanam.ufpe@gmail.com
Luisa Fernanda Ribeiro Reis USP-EESC Brazil fernanda@sc.usp.br
Biofuel & Plant Growth
Jeff Arnold USDA-ARS USA Jeff.Arnold@ars.usda.gov
Philip Gassman Iowa State University USA pwgassma@iastate.edu
Maria Lúcia Calijuri UFV Brazil calijuri@ufv.br
Maria Betânia G. S. Freire UFRPE Brazil betania@depa.ufrpe.br
Aristides Ribeiro UFV Brazil ribeiro@ufv.br
Edivan Rodrigues de Souza UFRPE Brazil edivan@depa.ufrpe.br
Environmental Applications
Nicola Fohrer Christian-Albrechts-University Kiel, Germany nfohrer@hydrology.uni-kiel.de
José Miguel Sánchez-Pérez CNRS-ECOLAB France jose.sanchez@univ-tlse3.fr
Martin Volk Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ Germany martin.volk@ufz.de
Maria Lúcia Calijuri UFV Brazil calijuri@ufv.br
Rodolfo Araujo Loos Fibria Brazil raloos@fibria.com.br
Maria Betânia G. S. Freire UFRPE Brazil betania@depa.ufrpe.br
Azeneth Schuler Embrapa Solos - RJ Brazil marysolschuler@gmail.com
Ricardo de O. Figueiredo Embrapa Meio Ambiente Brazil ricardo.figueiredo@embrapa.br
Rachel Bardy Prado Embrapa Solos Brazil rachel.prado@embrapa.br
Andre Julio do Amaral Embrapa Solos UEP Recife Brazil andre.amaral@embrapa.br
Jorge Enoch Furquim Werneck Lima Embrapa Cerrados Brazil jorge.werneck-lima@embrapa.br
Eduardo Mario Mendiondo USP-EESC Brazil e.mario.mendiondo@gmail.com
Celso Bandeira de Melo Ribeiro UFJF Brazil celso.bandeira@ufjf.edu.br
Luis H.P. Garbossa EPAGRI Brazil garbossa@gmail.com
Wilson Fernandes UFMG Brazil wilson@ehr.ufmg.br
Marco Aurelio Costa Caiado Instituto Federal do Espírito Santo - Campus Vitória Brazil mcaiado@ifes.edu.br
Aristides Ribeiro UFV Brazil ribeiro@ufv.br
Nadia Bernardi Bonumá UFSC Brazil nadia.bonuma@ufsc.br
Matheus Fonseca Durães UFLA Brazil mattduraes@yahoo.com.br
Maria Sonia Lopes da Silva Embrapa Solos UEP Recife Brazil sonia.lopes@embrapa.br
Brivaldo Gomes de Almeida UFRPE Brazil brivaldo@depa.ufrpe.br
Otto Correa Rotunno Filho COPPE-UFRJ Brazil ottorotunno@oi.com.br
Luciana Roberta Sarmento Silva ANA Brazil luciana.sarmento@ana.gov.br
Ceres Duarte de Almeida UFRPE Brazil ceres@codai.ufrpe.br
Marcus Aurelio Soares Cruz EMBRAPA Brazil mascruz@embrapa.br
Edivan Rodrigues de Souza UFRPE Brazil edivan@depa.ufrpe.br
Silvio Frosini de Barros Ferraz ESALQ/USP Brazil silvio.ferraz@usp.br
Gilvan Sampaio INPE Brazil gilvan.sampaio@inpe.br
BMPs
C. Allan Jones Texas AgriLife Research USA cajones@tamu.edu
Antonio Lo Porto IRSA IT antonio.loporto@ba.irsa.cnr.it
Mike White USDA-ARS USA mike.white@ars.usda.gov
Taesoo Lee Texas A&M University USA taesoo@gmail.com
Maria Lúcia Calijuri UFV Brazil calijuri@ufv.br
Azeneth Schuler Embrapa Solos - RJ Brazil marysolschuler@gmail.com
Andre Julio do Amaral Embrapa Solos UEP Recife Brazil andre.amaral@embrapa.br
Jorge Enoch Furquim Werneck Lima Embrapa Cerrados Brazil jorge.werneck-lima@embrapa.br
Guilherme Marques CEFET-MG Brazil gmarques@civil.cefetmg.br
Marco Aurelio Costa Caiado Instituto Federal do Espírito Santo - Campus Vitória Brazil mcaiado@ifes.edu.br
Roberto A. Cecílio UFES Brazil roberto.cecilio@ufes.br
Jean Minella UFMS Brazil jminella@gmail.com
Suzana Gico Montenegro UFPE Brazil suzanam.ufpe@gmail.com
Hydrology
A.K. Gosain Indian Institute of Technology India gosain@civil.iitd.ac.in
Antonio Lo Porto IRSA IT antonio.loporto@ba.irsa.cnr.it
Jose Maria Bodoque Del Pozo UCLM Toledo, Spain JoseMaria.Bodoque@uclm.es
Jaehak Jeong Texas AgriLife Research USA jjeong@brc.tamus.edu
Maria Lúcia Calijuri UFV Brazil calijuri@ufv.br
Maria Betânia G. S. Freire UFRPE Brazil betania@depa.ufrpe.br
Azeneth Schuler Embrapa Solos - RJ Brazil marysolschuler@gmail.com
Eber Andrade CPRM Brazil eber.andrade@cprm.gov.br
Vladimir Caramori UFAL Brazil vcaramori@yahoo.com
Ricardo de O. Figueiredo Embrapa Meio Ambiente Brazil ricardo.figueiredo@embrapa.br
Dirceu Silveira Reis Jr. UnB Brazil dirceu.reis@gmail.com
Ligia Maria Nascimento de Araujo ANA Brazil ligia.araujo@ana.gov.br
Andre Julio do Amaral Embrapa Solos UEP Recife Brazil andre.amaral@embrapa.br
Jorge Enoch Furquim Werneck Lima Embrapa Cerrados Brazil jorge.werneck-lima@embrapa.br
Eduardo Mario Mendiondo USP-EESC Brazil e.mario.mendiondo@gmail.com
Luis H.P. Garbossa EPAGRI Brazil garbossa@gmail.com
Guilherme Marques CEFET-MG Brazil gmarques@civil.cefetmg.br
Maria Crystianne Fonseca Rosal APAC Brazil crystianne.rosal@apac.pe.gov.br
Nelson Fernandes UFRJ Brazil nelsonff@acd.ufrj.br
Wilson Fernandes UFMG Brazil wilson@ehr.ufmg.br
Marco Aurelio Costa Caiado Instituto Federal do Espírito Santo - Campus Vitória Brazil mcaiado@ifes.edu.br
Aristides Ribeiro UFV Brazil ribeiro@ufv.br
Matheus Fonseca Durães UFLA Brazil mattduraes@yahoo.com.br
Maria Sonia Lopes da Silva Embrapa Solos UEP Recife Brazil sonia.lopes@embrapa.br
Javier Tomasella CEMADEN Brazil javier.tomasella@cemaden.gov.br
Roberto A. Cecílio UFES Brazil roberto.cecilio@ufes.br
Otto Correa Rotunno Filho COPPE-UFRJ Brazil ottorotunno@oi.com.br
Carlos Rogério de Mello UFLA Brazil crmello@deg.ufla.br
Luciana Roberta Sarmento Silva ANA Brazil luciana.sarmento@ana.gov.br
Fernando Pruski UFV Brazil ffpruski@ufv.br
Marcus Aurelio Soares Cruz EMBRAPA Brazil mascruz@embrapa.br
Lineu Neiva Rodrigues Embrapa Cerrados Brazil lineu.rodrigues@embrapa.br
Francisco de Assis de Souza Filho UFC Brazil assissouzafilho@gmail.com
Tom Cochrane University of Canterbury New Zealand tom.cochrane@canterbury.ac.nz
Afonso Augusto Magalhães de Araujo UFRJ Brazil afonsoaraujo@poli.ufrj.br
Suzana Gico Montenegro UFPE Brazil suzanam.ufpe@gmail.com
Luisa Fernanda Ribeiro Reis USP-EESC Brazil fernanda@sc.usp.br
Welson Lima Simões EMBRAPA Semi-árido Brazil welson.simoes@embrapa.br
Sediments, Nutrients, and Carbon
Nicola Fohrer Christian-Albrechts-University Kiel, Germany nfohrer@hydrology.uni-kiel.de
Ann van Griensven UNESCO-IHE NL a.vangriensven@unesco-ihe.org
Maria Lúcia Calijuri UFV Brazil calijuri@ufv.br
Maria Betânia G. S. Freire UFRPE Brazil betania@depa.ufrpe.br
Ricardo de O. Figueiredo Embrapa Meio Ambiente Brazil ricardo.figueiredo@embrapa.br
Andre Julio do Amaral Embrapa Solos UEP Recife Brazil andre.amaral@embrapa.br
Jorge Enoch Furquim Werneck Lima Embrapa Cerrados Brazil jorge.werneck-lima@embrapa.br
Ricardo Tezini Minoti UnB Brazil ricardo.minoti@gmail.com
Luis H.P. Garbossa EPAGRI Brazil garbossa@gmail.com
Nelson Fernandes UFRJ Brazil nelsonff@acd.ufrj.br
Marco Aurelio Costa Caiado Instituto Federal do Espírito Santo - Campus Vitória Brazil mcaiado@ifes.edu.br
Aristides Ribeiro UFV Brazil ribeiro@ufv.br
Nadia Bernardi Bonumá UFSC Brazil nadia.bonuma@ufsc.br
Carlos Rogério de Mello UFLA Brazil crmello@deg.ufla.br
Pedro Cunha ANA Brazil pedro.cunha@ana.gov.br
Marcus Aurelio Soares Cruz EMBRAPA Brazil mascruz@embrapa.br
Tom Cochrane University of Canterbury (New Zeland) Brazil tom.cochrane@canterbury.ac.nz
Jailson Cunha UFV Brazil jailson.c.c@gmail.com
Jean Minella UFMS Brazil jminella@gmail.com
Alexandre Ferreira Nascimento Embrapa Solos UEP Recife Brazil alexandre.nascimento@embrapa.br
Alessandra Monteiro Salviano Mendes EMBRAPA Semi-Árido Brazil alessandra.mendes@embrapa.br
Pesticides, Bacteria, Metals, and Pharmaceuticals
Jeff Arnold USDA-ARS USA Jeff.Arnold@ars.usda.gov
R. Srinivasan Texas A&M University USA r-srinivasan@tamu.edu
Claire Baffaut USDA USA BaffautC@missouri.edu
Ricardo Tezini Minoti UnB Brazil ricardo.minoti@gmail.com
Alessandra Monteiro Salviano Mendes EMBRAPA Semi-Árido Brazil alessandra.mendes@embrapa.br
Model Development
Ann van Griensven UNESCO-IHE NL a.vangriensven@unesco-ihe.org
Jaehak Jeong Texas AgriLife Research USA jjeong@brc.tamus.edu
Mike White USDA-ARS USA mike.white@ars.usda.gov
Xuesong Zhang Pacific Northwest National Laboratory USA xuesongzhang2004@gmail.com
Balaji Narasimhan Indian Institute of Technology-Madras India nbalaji@iitm.ac.in
Maria Lúcia Calijuri UFV Brazil calijuri@ufv.br
Wilson Fernandes UFMG Brazil wilson@ehr.ufmg.br
Aristides Ribeiro UFV Brazil ribeiro@ufv.br
Otto Correa Rotunno Filho COPPE-UFRJ Brazil ottorotunno@oi.com.br
Luciana Roberta Sarmento Silva ANA Brazil luciana.sarmento@ana.gov.br
Lineu Neiva Rodrigues Embrapa Cerrados Brazil lineu.rodrigues@embrapa.br
Tom Cochrane University of Canterbury New Zealand tom.cochrane@canterbury.ac.nz
Afonso Augusto Magalhães de Araujo UFRJ Brazil afonsoaraujo@poli.ufrj.br
Josiclêda Galvíncio UFPE Brazil josicleda@hotmail.com
Database and GIS Application and Development
Ann van Griensven UNESCO-IHE NL a.vangriensven@unesco-ihe.org
R. Srinivasan Texas A&M University USA r-srinivasan@tamu.edu
Pierluigi Cau CRS4 Italy pierluigi.cau@gmail.com
Maria Lúcia Calijuri UFV Brazil calijuri@ufv.br
Rachel Bardy Prado Embrapa Solos Brazil rachel.prado@embrapa.br
Jorge Enoch Furquim Werneck Lima Embrapa Cerrados Brazil jorge.werneck-lima@embrapa.br
Celso Bandeira de Melo Ribeiro UFJF Brazil celso.bandeira@ufjf.edu.br
Marcus Aurelio Soares Cruz EMBRAPA Brazil mascruz@embrapa.br
Tom Cochrane University of Canterbury New Zealand tom.cochrane@canterbury.ac.nz
Afonso Augusto Magalhães de Araujo UFRJ Brazil afonsoaraujo@poli.ufrj.br
Urban Processes and Management
C. Allan Jones Texas AgriLife Research USA cajones@tamu.edu
Pedro Chambel Leitão IST-MARETEC Portugal pedrochambelleitao@gmail.com
Jaehak Jeong Texas AgriLife Research USA jjeong@brc.tamus.edu
Maria Lúcia Calijuri UFV Brazil calijuri@ufv.br
Vladimir Caramori UFAL Brazil vcaramori@yahoo.com
Eduardo Mario Mendiondo USP-EESC Brazil e.mario.mendiondo@gmail.com
Monica Porto USP-Poli Brazil mporto@usp.br
Guilherme Marques CEFET-MG Brazil gmarques@civil.cefetmg.br
Javier Tomasella CEMADEN Brazil javier.tomasella@cemaden.gov.br
Luciana Roberta Sarmento Silva ANA Brazil luciana.sarmento@ana.gov.br
Afonso Augusto Magalhães de Araujo UFRJ Brazil afonsoaraujo@poli.ufrj.br
Suzana Gico Montenegro UFPE Brazil suzanam.ufpe@gmail.com
Luisa Fernanda Ribeiro Reis USP-EESC Brazil fernanda@sc.usp.br
Landscape Processes and Landscape / River Continuum
Valentina Krysanova PIK Germany Valentina.Krysanova@pik-potsdam.de
Martin Volk Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ Germany martin.volk@ufz.de
Sabine Sauvage CNRS-ECOLAB France sabine.sauvage@univ-tlse3.fr
Ricardo de O. Figueiredo Embrapa Meio Ambiente Brazil ricardo.figueiredo@embrapa.br
Rachel Bardy Prado Embrapa Solos Brazil rachel.prado@embrapa.br
Nelson Fernandes UFRJ Brazil nelsonff@acd.ufrj.br
Javier Tomasella CEMADEN Brazil javier.tomasella@cemaden.gov.br
Luciana Roberta Sarmento Silva ANA Brazil luciana.sarmento@ana.gov.br
Pedro Cunha ANA Brazil pedro.cunha@ana.gov.br
Silvio Frosini de Barros Ferraz ESALQ/USP Brazil silvio.ferraz@usp.br
Afonso Augusto Magalhães de Araujo UFRJ Brazil afonsoaraujo@poli.ufrj.br
Jean Minella UFMS Brazil jminella@gmail.com
Alexandre Ferreira Nascimento Embrapa Solos UEP Recife Brazil alexandre.nascimento@embrapa.br
InStream Sediment and Pollutant Transport
A.K. Gosain Indian Institute of Technology India gosain@civil.iitd.ac.in
Pedro Chambel Leitão IST-MARETEC Portugal pedrochambelleitao@gmail.com
Jaehak Jeong Texas AgriLife Research USA jjeong@brc.tamus.edu
José Miguel Sánchez-Pérez CNRS-ECOLAB France jose.sanchez@univ-tlse3.fr
Balaji Narasimhan Indian Institute of Technology-Madras India nbalaji@iitm.ac.in
Ricardo de O. Figueiredo Embrapa Meio Ambiente Brazil ricardo.figueiredo@embrapa.br
Eduardo Mario Mendiondo USP-EESC Brazil e.mario.mendiondo@gmail.com
Ricardo Tezini Minoti UnB Brazil ricardo.minoti@gmail.com
Luis H.P. Garbossa EPAGRI Brazil garbossa@gmail.com
Nadia Bernardi Bonumá UFSC Brazil nadia.bonuma@ufsc.br
Pedro Cunha ANA Brazil pedro.cunha@ana.gov.br
Marcus Aurelio Soares Cruz EMBRAPA Brazil mascruz@embrapa.br
Tom Cochrane University of Canterbury New Zealand tom.cochrane@canterbury.ac.nz
Sponsors
  • abrh-logo.png
  • ufrpe.jpg
  • ipa.png
  • itep.jpg
  • ufpe.jpg
  • CAPES.png
  • cnpq.png
  • facepe.png
  • ups.jpg
  • omp.jpg

Contact us

Email swatbrazil2014@gmail.com with questions or comments.

Back to top