Conferences International 2012 - New Delhi, India

July 16-20, 2012, India Habitat Centre, New Delhi, India

Background & Conference Topics

The Soil and Water Assessment Tool (SWAT) is a public domain model jointly developed by USDA Agricultural Research Service (USDA-ARS) and Texas AgriLife Research, part of The Texas A&M University System.

SWAT is a river basin-scale model to simulate the quality and quantity of surface and ground water and predict the environmental impact of land management practices on different soil patterns and land use patterns.

SWAT is widely used in assessing soil erosion prevention and control, non-point source pollution control and regional management in watersheds.

Conference topics include:

  • Large Scale Applications
  • Climate Change Applications
  • Sensitivity Calibration and Uncertainty
  • Biofuel & Plant Growth
  • Environmental Applications
  • BMPs
  • Hydrology
  • Sediment, Nutrients, and Carbon
  • Pesticides, Bacteria, Metals, and Pharmaceuticals
  • Model Development
  • Database and GIS Application and Development
  • Urban Processes and Management
  • Landscape Processes and Landscape / River Continuum
  • InStream Sediment and Pollutant Transport
  • Ganga River Basin Management
  • SWAT applications and development in India
Scientific Committee

(View committee by country of representation)

Large Scale Applications
Karim Abbaspour, EAWAG, Switzerland (karim.abbaspour@eawag.ch)
A. K. Gosain, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi (gosain@civil.iitd.ac.in)
R. Srinivasan, Texas A&M University, USA (r-srinivasan@tamu.edu)
Eldho Iype, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay (eldho@civil.iitb.ac.in)

Climate Change Applications
Valentina Krysanova, PIK, Germany (Valentina.Krysanova@pik-potsdam.de)
Sue White, Cranfield University, United Kingdom (sue.white@cranfield.ac.uk)
Sandhya Rao, INRM Consultants, India (sandhya.delhi@gmail.com)
Fred F. Hattermann, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, Germany (hattermann@pik-potsdam.de)
Xuesong Zhang, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA (xuesongzhang2004@gmail.com)
P. P. Mujumdar, Indian Institute of Science (ppmujumdar@gmail.com)
N. H. Ravindranath, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru (ravi@ces.iisc.ernet.in)

Sensitivity Calibration and Uncertainty
Karim Abbaspour, EAWAG, Switzerland (karim.abbaspour@eawag.ch)
Ann van Griensven, UNESCO-IHE, The Netherlands (a.vangriensven@unesco-ihe.org)
Indrajeet Chaubey, Purdue University, USA (ichaubey@purdue.edu)
Xuesong Zhang, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA (xuesongzhang2004@gmail.com)
K. P. Sudheer, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras (sudheer@iitm.ac.in)

Biofuel & Plant Growth
Jeff Arnold, USDA-ARS, USA (Jeff.Arnold@ars.usda.gov)
Pramod Aggarwal, International Water Management Institute, Delhi, India (p.k.aggarwal@cgiar.org)
Philip Gassman, Iowa State University, USA (pwgassma@iastate.edu)

Environmental Applications
Nicola Fohrer, Christian-Albrechts-University, Kiel, Germany (nfohrer@hydrology.uni-kiel.de)
José M. Sánchez-Pérez, ECOLAB, France (sanchez@cict.fr )
Martin Volk, Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ, Germany (martin.volk@ufz.de)
Mike White, USDA-ARS, USA (mike.white@ars.usda.gov)
Arvind K. Nema, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi (aknema@gmail.com)

BMPs
C. Allan Jones, Texas AgriLife Research, USA (cajones@tamu.edu)
Antonio Lo Porto, IRSA, Italy (antonio.loporto@ba.irsa.cnr.it)
Mike White, USDA-ARS, USA (mike.white@ars.usda.gov)
Pushpa Tuppad
Amit Garg, Public Systems Group (amitgarg@iimahd.ernet.in)
Narendra Signh Raghuwanshi, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur (nsr@agfe.iitkgp.ernet.in)

Hydrology
Muthiah Perumal, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, India (p_erumal@yahoo.com)
Antonio Lo Porto, IRSA, Italy (antonio.loporto@ba.irsa.cnr.it)
Jose Maria Bodoque Del Pozo, UCLM, Spain (JoseMaria.Bodoque@uclm.es)
D. Nagesh Kumar, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (nagesh@civil.iisc.ernet.in)
Kapil Dev Sharma, Government of India (drkdsharma@gmail.com)
Dhrubajyoti Sen, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur (djsen@civil.iitkgp.ernet.in)

Sediment, Nutrients, and Carbon
Nicola Fohrer, Christian-Albrechts-University, Kiel, Germany (nfohrer@hydrology.uni-kiel.de)
Ann van Griensven, UNESCO-IHE, The Netherlands (a.vangriensven@unesco-ihe.org)
Balaji Narasimhan, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras (nbalaji@iitm.ac.in)
P. Rajendra Prasad, Andhra University, Visakhapatnam, India (rpatury@yahoo.com)
Subashisa Dutta, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati (subashisa@iitg.ernet.in)

Pesticides, Bacteria, Metals, and Pharmaceuticals
Jeff Arnold, USDA-ARS, USA (Jeff.Arnold@ars.usda.gov)
R. Srinivasan, Texas A&M University, USA (r-srinivasan@tamu.edu)
José M. Sánchez-Pérez, ECOLAB, France (sanchez@cict.fr )
Virginia Jin, USDA-ARS, USA (Virginia.Jin@ars.usda.gov)
A. K. Mittal, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India (akmittal@civil.iitd.ac.in)

Model Development
Nicola Fohrer, Christian-Albrechts-University, Kiel, Germany (nfohrer@hydrology.uni-kiel.de)
Ann van Griensven, UNESCO-IHE, The Netherlands (a.vangriensven@unesco-ihe.org)
Jaehak Jeong, Texas AgriLife Research, USA (jjeong@brc.tamus.edu)
Arup Kumar Sarma, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati (aks@iitg.ernet.in)

Database and GIS Application and Development
Ann van Griensven, UNESCO-IHE, The Netherlands (a.vangriensven@unesco-ihe.org)
R. Srinivasan, Texas A&M University, USA (r-srinivasan@tamu.edu)
Pedro Chambel Leitão, IST-MARETEC, Portugal (pedrochambelleitao@gmail.com)
Dharmendra Saraswat, University of Arkansas, USA (dsaraswat@uaex.edu)

Urban Processes and Management
C. Allan Jones, Texas AgriLife Research, USA (cajones@tamu.edu)
Jaehak Jeong, Texas AgriLife Research, USA (jjeong@brc.tamus.edu)
Amit Garg, Public Systems Group (amitgarg@iimahd.ernet.in)
Kapil Gupta, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay (kgupta@civil.iitb.ac.in)

Landscape Processes and Landscape / River Continuum
Valentina Krysanova, PIK, Germany (Valentina.Krysanova@pik-potsdam.de)
Martin Volk, Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ, Germany (martin.volk@ufz.de)

InStream Sediment and Pollutant Transport
Pedro Chambel Leitão, IST-MARETEC, Portugal (pedrochambelleitao@gmail.com)
Jaehak Jeong, Texas AgriLife Research, USA (jjeong@brc.tamus.edu)
José M. Sánchez-Pérez, ECOLAB, France (sanchez@cict.fr )
D. R. Kaushal, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India (kaushal@civil.iitd.ac.in)
Pranab Mohapatra, University of South Carolina (pranab@cec.sc.edu)

Ganga River Basin Management
Balaji Narasimhan, Indian Institute of Technology - Madras (nbalaji@iitm.ac.in)
A. K. Gosain, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi (gosain@civil.iitd.ac.in)
Sandhya Rao, INRM Consultants, India (sandhya.delhi@gmail.com)
B. S. Murty, Indian Institute of Technology Madras, India (bsm@iitm.ac.in)
B. R. Chahar, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India (chahar@civil.iitd.ac.inz)
Subashisa Dutta, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati (subashisa@iitg.ernet.in)

SWAT applications and development in India
Dharmendra Saraswat, University of Arkansas, USA (dsaraswat@uaex.edu)
Indrajeet Chaubey, Purdue University, USA (ichaubey@purdue.edu)
Balaji Narasimhan, Indian Institute of Technology - Madras (nbalaji@iitm.ac.in)
A. K. Gosain, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi (gosain@civil.iitd.ac.in)
D. Nagesh Kumar, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (nagesh@civil.iisc.ernet.in)
Sharad Jain, Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee (s_k_jain@yahoo.com)

Non-SWAT Category
Kapil Dev Sharma, Government of India (drkdsharma@gmail.com)
Balaji Narasimhan, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras (nbalaji@iitm.ac.in)
D. Nagesh Kumar, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (nagesh@civil.iisc.ernet.in)
Rakesh Khosa, Civil Engineering Department, IIT Delhi, Hauz Khaz, New (rakesh.khosa@gmail.com)

Scientific Committee by Country of Representation

Indian RepresentativesInternational Representatives
Subashisa Dutta José M. Sánchez-Pérez France
Amit Garg Nicola Fohrer Germany
A. K. Gosain Fred F. Hattermann Germany
Kapil Gupta Valentina Krysanova Germany
Eldho Iype Martin Volk Germany
Sharad Jain Antonio Lo Porto Italy
D. Nagesh Kumar Pedro Chambel Leitão Portugal
P. P. Mujumdar Jose Maria Bodoque Del Pozo Spain
Balaji Narasimhan Karim Abbaspour Switzerland
Arvind K. Nema Ann van Griensven The Netherlands
Muthiah Perumal Sue White United Kingdom
Narendra Signh Raghuwanshi Jeff Arnold USA
Sandhya Rao Indrajeet Chaubey USA
N. H. Ravindranath Philip Gassman USA
Arup Kumar Sarma Jaehak Jeong USA
Dhrubajyoti Sen Virginia Jin USA
Kapil Dev Sharma C. Allan Jones USA
K. P. Sudheer Pranab Mohapatra USA
Pramod Aggarwal Dharmendra Saraswat USA
B. R. Chahar R. Srinivasan USA
D. R. Kaushal Mike White USA
Rakesh Khosa Xuesong Zhang USA
A. K. Mittal
B. S. Murty
P. Rajendra Prasad
Organizing Committee
  • Dr. A.K. Gosain, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi
  • Dr. Balaji Narasimhan, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras
  • Dr. Jeff Arnold, U.S. Department of Agriculture-Agricultural Research Service, USA
  • Dr. R. Srinivasan, Texas AgriLife Research, Texas A&M University, USA
  • Courtney Smith, Texas AgriLife Research, USA
Contact

For any questions about the conference or workshops, please contact:

India participants contact: Uttam Aswal, FITT, IIT, Delhi (uttamaswal@hotmail.com)
International participants contact: Courtney Smith, Texas AgriLife Research (courtneysmith@tamu.edu)

Back to top