Conferences 2013 - Toulouse, France

Paul Sabatier University, Toulouse, France
July 15-19, 2013

The 2013 International SWAT Conference drew nearly 200 attendees from 35 countries with more than 170 oral and poster presentations on the Soil and Water Assessment Tool (SWAT). Thank you to everyone who participated and we hope you enjoyed the conference and your time in Toulouse, and that you continue to view these gatherings as a positive opportunity for our international research community to share the latest innovations developed for SWAT.

About the conference

Background and Conference Topics

The Soil and Water Assessment Tool (SWAT) is a public domain model jointly developed by USDA Agricultural Research Service (USDA-ARS) and Texas AgriLife Research, part of The Texas A&M University System.

SWAT is a small watershed to river basin-scale model to simulate the quality and quantity of surface and ground water and predict the environmental impact of land use, land management practices, and climate change.

SWAT is widely used in assessing soil erosion prevention and control, non-point source pollution control and regional management in watersheds.

Conference topics include:

  • Large Scale Applications
  • Climate Change Applications
  • Sensitivity Calibration and Uncertainty
  • Biofuel & Plant Growth
  • Environmental Applications
  • BMPs
  • Hydrology
  • Sediment, Nutrients, and Carbon
  • Pesticides, Bacteria, Metals, and Pharmaceuticals
  • Model Development
  • Database and GIS Application and Development
  • Urban Processes and Management
  • Landscape Processes and Landscape / River Continuum
  • InStream Sediment and Pollutant Transport
Scientific Committee

Large Scale Applications
Karim Abbaspour, EAWAG, Switzerland (karim.abbaspour@eawag.ch)
R. Srinivasan, Texas A&M University, USA (r-srinivasan@tamu.edu)
Debjani Deb, Texas A&M University, USA (ddeb@neo.tamu.edu)

Climate Change Applications
Valentina Krysanova, PIK, Germany (Valentina.Krysanova@pik-potsdam.de)
Sue White, Cranfield University, UK (sue.white@cranfield.ac.uk)
François Anctil, U. Laval, Canada (Francois.Anctil@gci.ulaval.ca)

Sensitivity Calibration and Uncertainty
Karim Abbaspour, EAWAG, Switzerland (karim.abbaspour@eawag.ch)
Ann van Griensven, UNESCO-IHE, NL (a.vangriensven@unesco-ihe.org)
Christophe Laplanche, INPT-ECOLAB, France (christophe.laplanche@ensat.fr)

Biofuel & Plant Growth
Jeff Arnold, USDA-ARS, USA (Jeff.Arnold@ars.usda.gov)
Philip Gassman, Iowa State University, USA (pwgassma@iastate.edu)
Olivier Therond, INRA, France (olivier.therond@toulouse.inra.fr)

Environmental Applications
Nicola Fohrer, Christian-Albrechts-University, Kiel, Germany (nfohrer@hydrology.uni-kiel.de)
José Miguel Sánchez-Pérez, CNRS-ECOLAB, France (jose.sanchez@univ-tlse3.fr)
Martin Volk, Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ, Germany (martin.volk@ufz.de)
Josette Garnier, CNRS-UPMC, France (josette.garnier@upmc.fr)

BMPs
C. Allan Jones, Texas AgriLife Research, USA (cajones@tamu.edu)
Antonio Lo Porto, IRSA, IT (antonio.loporto@ba.irsa.cnr.it)
Sue White, Cranfield University, UK (sue.white@cranfield.ac.uk)
Mike White, USDA-ARS, USA (mike.white@ars.usda.gov)
Eric Justes, INRA, France (justes@toulouse.inra.fr)
Taesoo Lee, Texas A&M University, USA (taesoo@gmail.com)

Hydrology
A.K. Gosain, Indian Institute of Technology, India (gosain@civil.iitd.ac.in)
Antonio Lo Porto, IRSA, IT (antonio.loporto@ba.irsa.cnr.it)
Jose Maria Bodoque Del Pozo, UCLM, Toledo, Spain (JoseMaria.Bodoque@uclm.es)
Jaehak Jeong, Texas AgriLife Research, USA (jjeong@brc.tamus.edu)
François Anctil, U. Laval, Canada (Francois.Anctil@gci.ulaval.ca)

Sediment, Nutrients, and Carbon
Nicola Fohrer, Christian-Albrechts-University, Kiel, Germany (nfohrer@hydrology.uni-kiel.de)
Ann van Griensven, UNESCO-IHE, NL (a.vangriensven@unesco-ihe.org)
Jean-Luc Probst, CNRS-ECOLAB, France (jean-luc.probst@ensat.fr)
Gilles Billen, CNRS-UPMC, France (gilles.billen@upmc.fr)

Pesticides, Bacteria, Metals, and Pharmaceuticals
Jeff Arnold, USDA-ARS, USA (Jeff.Arnold@ars.usda.gov)
R. Srinivasan, Texas A&M University, USA (r-srinivasan@tamu.edu)
Jaehak Jeong, Texas AgriLife Research, USA (jjeong@brc.tamus.edu)
Virginia Jin, USDA-ARS, USA (Virginia.Jin@ars.usda.gov)
Ali Sadeghi, USDA-ARS, USA (Ali.Sadeghi@ars.usda,gov)
Claire Baffaut, USDA, USA (BaffautC@missouri.edu)
Magali Gerino, UPS-ECOLAB, France, (magali.gerino@univ-tlse3.fr)

Model Development
Nicola Fohrer, Christian-Albrechts-University, Kiel, Germany (nfohrer@hydrology.uni-kiel.de)
Ann van Griensven, UNESCO-IHE, NL (a.vangriensven@unesco-ihe.org)
Jaehak Jeong, Texas AgriLife Research, USA (jjeong@brc.tamus.edu)
Mike White, USDA-ARS, USA (mike.white@ars.usda.gov)
Sabine Sauvage, CNRS-ECOLAB, France (sabine.sauvage@univ-tlse3.fr)

Database and GIS Application and Development
Ann van Griensven, UNESCO-IHE, NL (a.vangriensven@unesco-ihe.org)
R. Srinivasan, Texas A&M University, USA (r-srinivasan@tamu.edu)
Pierluigi Cau, CRS4, Italy (pierluigi.cau@gmail.com)

Urban Processes and Management
C. Allan Jones, Texas AgriLife Research, USA (cajones@tamu.edu)
Pedro Chambel Leitão, IST-MARETEC, Portugal (pedrochambelleitao@gmail.com)
Jaehak Jeong, Texas AgriLife Research, USA (jjeong@brc.tamus.edu)
Anne Probst, Ecolab, France (anne.probst@ensat.fr)
Magali Gerino, UPS-ECOLAB, France (magali.gerino@univ-tlse3.fr)

Landscape Processes and Landscape / River Continuum
Valentina Krysanova, PIK, Germany (Valentina.Krysanova@pik-potsdam.de)
Martin Volk, Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ, Germany (martin.volk@ufz.de)
Sabine Sauvage, CNRS-ECOLAB, France (sabine.sauvage@univ-tlse3.fr)

InStream Sediment and Pollutant Transport
A.K. Gosain, Indian Institute of Technology, India (gosain@civil.iitd.ac.in)
Pedro Chambel Leitão, IST-MARETEC, Portugal (pedrochambelleitao@gmail.com)
Jaehak Jeong, Texas AgriLife Research, USA (jjeong@brc.tamus.edu)
José Miguel Sánchez-Pérez, CNRS-ECOLAB, France (jose.sanchez@univ-tlse3.fr)

Organizing Committee

International Organizing Committee

  • José M. Sánchez-Pérez, CNRS, Toulouse, France
  • Sabine Sauvage, CNRS, Toulouse, France
  • Claire Baffaut, USDA, Columbia, USA
  • Jeff Arnold, USDA-ARS, Temple, USA
  • R. Srinivasan, Texas A&M University, College Station, USA

Local Committee

  • Marie Ange Albouy, Université Paul Sabatier, Toulouse, France
  • Cyril Garneau, Université de Toulouse, France
  • Léonard Bernard-Jannin, Université de Toulouse, France
  • Xiaoling Sun, Université de Toulouse, France
  • Youen Grousson, Université de Toulouse, France
  • Yi Hong, INRA, Toulouse, France
  • Anne Comera-Grande, ECOLAB, CNRS-Université de Toulouse, France
  • Laurie Boithias, ICRA, Girona, Spain